A firm believer of free will and proud that we always have a choice, there are still instances when I admit that there are forces stronger than us, little specks of breathing matter in this universe, and that they swirl around us, aimlessly but never lost, and influence some of our choices.

“Do you think I’d have met you when I did not quit school for a little while and worked at your office?” my boyfriend used to ask me during that first few months we dated, drunk in our self-contained happiness but wary of what life could bring us.

“Yes, I think so,” I always answered with conviction.

“I agree,” he’d answer back.

ring1

ring2

The choices that these forces influence are not the run-of-the-mill kind, no they’re not. They’re the kind that gives you butterflies in the stomach, makes you smile like crazy for days, and undeniably scared of loss that you wake up in the middle of the night crying.

They are the choices that make this run-of-the-mill life a bit magical, a bit maddening, a bit strange, and completely worth loving. You can resist these forces but it would be better not to. Besides, I think they only want beautiful things for us.

belt

red-shoes

I’ve been drawn to red things lately…

