I am absolutely certain that everyone who joins this Sewing Machine Meme will be showing off their branded sewing machines. So I shouldn’t have joined, huh? Well, this is for the interest of research, so here are my answers:

What brand and model do you have? – The cheap kind sold at K-Mart. It says Homemaker Everyday.

How long have you had it? – More than a year.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)? – PhP5500 in my currency. Around $122, I think.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)? – Bags, clothes, home decoration projects, every sewing project I’ve ever blogged about.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get? – I use it for around 20 hours per week.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

Love HER. Her name is Lorelai Gilmore. If you’re a Gilmore Girls fan, you’d know why. Although, if I get a better machine, I’d name the new one Lorelai, too.

What features does your machine have that work well for you? – Well, it didn’t turn out to be as bad as the reviews I read online. I guess I just know  how to deal with this cheap brand.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine? – Lamp died and I have not thought about replacing it. It also didn’t come with a teflon foot. Boo.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? – I’ve broken many a needle simply by sewing thick fabric but this machine has sewn through a zipper slider. Yes,  a slider. My heart stopped when I heard the loud sound but the only damage was a tiny hole on the slider. The needle was perfect; not bent or dull.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why? – Sure because it’s cheap.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine? – Good brand and price. As soon as I save enough money I’ll be getting a better Lorelai. One that I can leave to my grandchildren or something like that.

Do you have a dream machine? – SINGER® Stylist™ Sewing Machine & Serger Combo.  *Sigh*

