Forgive me but I can’t seem to stop talking about my new place. It’s like meeting someone and falling hopelessly in love. You keep mentioning this person to anyone who is a fool enough to listen; your friends can’t do anything but roll their eyes. It’s kind of like that.

So.

Did I mention that I have black floor? Because there was no way we would be able to live with floor THIS ugly, Uzi and I decided to cover it. I wanted tiles but installing them meant breach of contract. So our only choice was linoleum. (Li-SIGH-noleum.) Read that word as if you’re in a dungeon that smells like rotten flesh and the guard just handed you a rope.

Linoleum, you see, does not conjure up nice designing avenues. All the linoleum sheets I’ve had the honor of walking on were either tacky, floral, and downright ugly. They work for others but they just don’t scream elegant, cool, or even homey to me. But we didn’t have a choice.

We took the trip to the same store where I buy my bag-making supplies, ready to settle for the least cringe-inducing of their linoleum selection. We already convinced ourselves that this particular dark brown floral/Victorian design was good enough when we saw an all-black kind. Plain black, do you hear? It was more expensive than the normal kind but I didn’t care.

living room (only for those who fancy sitting on the floor)

living room (only for those who fancy sitting on the floor)

more books and part of the kitchen

more books and part of the kitchen

I reckon this will be a clean apartment as I will be able to see smudges easily with the black floor. Seriously. Dust kind of looks gray-ish.

I also reckon that I have around 5 more posts about the new place so you guys had better be ready.

