I just finished sewing curtains  for the kitchen windows of the new place. I mentioned in my last post some of the things I love about the new apartment and I will add another reason to that list now. I love the fact that I can decorate the apartment any way I want.

I have lived in 5 other apartments before this. I shared all 5 with other people and I never really got the chance to decorate any of them. If you’re living in a place with three to five other people, chances are your designing ideas will not jive. My designing aspirations were limited to arranging my bookshelves but I’d still find cigarettes, bills, and other stuff (not mine, obviously) keeping my books company.

The first thing I did upon moving in was to arrange my beloved books. This was actually essential since I have more books than clothes and fabrics combined and putting the books away was the best first step to make progress on the whole moving in thing.

The new apartment has built-in shelves near the door, thankfully. The BEFORE photo can be seen here. I’ve made them home to some of my books, teapots, photos, and other stuff I’ve collected and received through the years.

organized chaos

organized chaos

Here are detail photos:

Sauron hanging near the classics

Sauron hanging near the classics

for aromatherapy. of course they will not be lit near the books.

for aromatherapy. of course they will not be lit near the books.

an odd group

an odd group

baroque "frame" against my collection of Dean Koontz books. i love Dean. some days, i imagine being married to him.

baroque "frame" against my collection of Dean Koontz books. i love Dean. some days, i imagine being married to him.

Obviously, not all of my books fit in the shelves. Thankfully, I have two tall shelves of my own. The problem now is where to place new books that I will surely be buying.

PS.  I have two copies of Chuck Palahniuk’s Diary (seen in pic with teapots). I may have borrowed one from a friend but I’ve already forgotten who. If you’re that friend, text me.

