Several years ago, we went to Cagayan de Oro to attend the wedding of our friends. We stayed in an apartment that was owned by another friend (cousin of the bride). The place had this huge God’s Eye on one of its living room walls. It was dusty and old.

After the wedding, the place was rented out to some christian missionaries. Late one night, one of them saw a little girl, standing in the middle of the living room and staring intently at the God’s Eye.  I was already in Cebu when I heard that story but it freaked me out. Little girl ghosts are scary.

These are a couple of God’s Eyes that I have made. I created them about a year before my CDO trip. After hearing the story, however, I’ve found myself disinclined to display them in my room. Yes, I’m a scaredy-cat.

5gods-eye-with-border1.jpg

A GOD’S EYE is an ornament, famous in African, Native American, and Tibetan cultures since ancient times. Traditional God’s Eyes have cross-shaped frames. When wrapped with yarn, the middle part looks like a diamond, or an eye. According to folklore, it is used for protection, or to “see things beyond the unknown.”

5gods-eye.jpg

Right now, there is a little girl staring at these God’s Eyes. That would be me. Yes, I’m a little girl. Darn it, I’m scaring myself.

Here’s how you make them.

Happy crafting! :)

